Wisconsin educator named elementary principal of the year

UW-Madison scientist makes discovery regarding flu virus

The 2016 Wisconsin Elementary Principal of the Year leads two schools in the Sparta Area School District.

Principal Melissa Herek learned of the honor Monday during the Lawrence-Lawson Elementary morning meeting. Students and staff from her other school, Cataract Elementary, also were in attendance.

“It is an honor to be recognized as State Elementary Principal of the Year,” Herek said. “I accept this recognition on behalf of my students, staff, mentors, colleagues and family. I am truly blessed.”

Herek also received the Herb Kohl Foundation Leadership Award. This new Kohl Foundation award recognizes school principals who set high standards for instruction, achievement, and character and for creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff and community.

Read more on the Lacrosse Tribune