State of emergency declared in eight northern WI counties


Heavy rains overnight Monday caused flash flooding, damage, power outages and at least one death in counties throughout northern Wisconsin causing Gov. Walker to declare a State of Emergency in eight counties. Those counties include Ashland, Bayfield, Burnett, Douglas, Iron, Price, Sawyer, and Washburn.

In his statement, Gov. Walker said: “Heavy rainstorms overnight caused widespread damage across the Northwest,” Governor Walker said. “I express my thanks and appreciation to all of the first responders and officials in the area who are working hard to manage the situation. I am instructing the Wisconsin National Guard and all state agencies to aide those affected by the storms.”

Rainfall totals ranged from 5 to 11 inches in about 12 hours, causing many highway closures, including major routes throughout several counties:

Ashland County: U.S. Highway 2 at Sum Road, U.S. Highway 2 at Denomie Creek, WIS 13 at Silver Creek and Trout Brook, and WIS 169 at Bad River and Tyler Forks

Bayfield County: WIS 137 at Whipperfurth Road, and U.S Highway 63 at Twentymile Creek and U.S. Highway 63 in Bibon Swamp

Iron County: WIS 122 at U.S Highway 2 and Parker Creek, WIS 169 at Vaughn Creek and U.S. Highway 2

Washburn County: Portions of WIS 77

Many of the areas within the State of Emergency counties most likely have impassible damage. Travel is not advised, except for emergency crews. State officials are working to assist counties in their response and recovery efforts. Tonight the Governor will survey the damage with Wisconsin Emergency Management Administrator Brian Satula and speak with affected residents.





Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/customer/www/ on line 1008